Spinach Cake Muffins

24 Sep

Just wanted to do a quick post to let you all know, “WE ARE STILL HERE!” It has been a while since either Joanna or I have posted due to various reasons. I can only speak for myself when I say that sometimes frustration gets in the way of making recipes that look nice enough to post. I think we may just *try* to post as often as we can. I may also cut down on the step by step pictures. For me taking photos just gets in the way of making recipes.

I recently bought the Weelicious Lunches cookbook. Jasper is now going to full day preschool and I really needed some ideas for his lunchbox. He is an extremely picky eater and I wanted to try to inject something healthy each day.

The other day I decided to throw together the spinach cake muffins. They were super fast to make and Jasper ate 5 mini-muffins in one sitting! They were a huge hit for Max as well. The spinach give these muffins a monster green color, perfect for the monster/dino obsessed kid at my house. They are slightly sweet and don’t taste veggie laden. When introducing them to Jasper I called them “green muffins” so that the word “spinach” wouldn’t scare him off!

Spinach Cake Muffins
From Weelicious Lunches

Makes 24 mini muffins

Cooking spray or paper muffin cups

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

1 large egg

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

1 cup packed fresh spinach leaves

1/3 cup sugar

2 tablespoons vegetable or canola oil

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

Pre heat oven to 350°. Prepare muffin pan with nonstick spray or paper cups.

In the jar of a blender, combine applesauce, egg, vanilla, spinach, sugar, and oil until smooth. In a separate bowl combine dry ingredients. Add spinach mixture to dry ingredients and mix to combine.

Spoon batter evenly in the prepared muffin pan and bake for 12 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Cool on wire rack.

20130924-122109.jpg

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

