Spiced Peach-Carrot Bread

5 Sep

The wedding whirlwind is officially OVER!!!  Besides my wedding recently having come and gone, I was in three other weddings all within 10 months!!  It was a lot work and worrying, but my brother, cousin and friend are all good and married now.  I finally feel like things are starting to get back to normal at home and my energy level is coming back.  I’ve been taking care of business with my still very busy work days, as well as finishing up my “thank yous” to all the family and friends that wished us so many beautiful years and congratulations for our marriage and of course… the regular ol’ housework.  Boo.

Now to the fun stuff that I get to do at home.  I wanted to try this spiced peach-carrot bread from Southern Living.  The evenings are starting to cool down and I’m really looking forward to Autumn and opening up some windows in our house and having the cool breeze flow through.  I guess this will be my pre-welcome to all the goodies that are coming up in the Fall, like ground nutmeg!

So, with coffee in mind and in celebration of the short work week, I made this:

I followed the recipe as is.  I only used two carrots and two peaches.  I added a little bit more nutmeg and peach because I like it so much.

Spiced Peach-Carrot Bread adapted by  Southern Living

– 3/4 cup chopped pecans

– 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

– 1 cup sugar

– 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

– 3/4 teaspoon baking soda

– 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

– 1/2 teaspoon salt

– 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg (I added a bit more)

– 1 1/2 cups peeled and chopped fresh, ripe peaches

-3/4 cup of freshly grated carrots

-2/3 cup vegetable oil

– 1/2 cup of milk

– 2 large eggs, lightly beaten

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Bake pecans in a single layer in a shallow pan for 8 to 10 minutes or until lightly toasted and fragrant, stirring halfway through.  Cool for 15 minutes.

Stir dry ingredients together first: flour, sugar, ground cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder, salt, nutmeg.  Once the dry ingredients are combined, add chopped peaches to coat, then continue to add carrots, vegetable oil, milk and eggs.  Fold batter over until dry ingredients are moistened.  Spoon batter into a lightly greased 9×5 inch loaf pan.

Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour and 5 minutes or until a toothpick is inserted into the center of the bread and it comes out clean.  My bread took about 1 hour and 15 minutes.  Once the bread is done, cool bread on a cooling rack in pan for about 5 minutes.  When the bread has cooled slightly, you can remove the bread from the pan and cool bread completely for about an hour onto wire rack.

When I served myself a sliced of bread, I added a dollop of Greek yogurt to the slice.  It totally doesn’t need it, but I just wanted to try it.  I couldn’t wait for the bread to cool completely so I served myself a slice while it was still warm, good stuff!

( joanna )

Leave a Reply

