Enchiladas con Salsa Verde de Pollo y Feta (Chicken and Feta Enchiladas with Green Salsa)

19 Sep

One of the things that I love when visiting my in-laws is the care package that we bring home after having lunch or dinner with them.  More often than not, one thing that we always come home with is a big block of Feta cheese.  I had never really had this cheese before I met my husband and I was immediately smitten.  I could compare it to a Mexican cheese, “queso fresco” in that it’s crumbly, but queso fresco is softer and milder in flavor.  Feta’s texture is crumbly with a sharp, salty and tangy taste to it.  In having so much Feta cheese in the house, I grew tired of adding it to omelettes and salads and wondered what else I could do with it other than serving it during dinner as an appetizer with bread.

I was sitting at home one day and it occurred to me that enchiladas verdes would be a nice accompaniment with the briny/salty flavor of Feta because tomatillos’ flavor in salsa verde is tangy and a bit sour.  When this revelation first occurred to me, I decided to buy a can of Las Palmas ‘Salsa Para Enchiladas Verdes’ and made enchiladas filling them with shredded chicken, Feta cheese and black olives.  They turned out really good!  The combo of the Feta and salsa verde was excellent (Las Palmas is pretty good when you’re in a pinch and you don’t feel like making salsa).

This time around, I decided to step it up a little bit and make my own salsa verde.  It was totally awesome and I was kind of proud of myself.  I texted my mom a picture and she said that the enchiladas looked so pretty she couldn’t wait to try them one day.

Enchiladas con Salsa Verde de Pollo y Feta, inspired by Homesick Texan.

Salsa Verde:

– 1 1/2 lbs of tomatillos, husk removed (take a peek at the tomatillos when shopping for them, peel the husk down a bit and make their not terribly moldy or bruised)

– 1/2 yellow onion, cut into wedges

– 5-6 garlic cloves (my husband and I love garlic, so we usually add a little more to recipes)

– 2 serrano chiles

– 1 cup of cilantro leaves and stems, roughly chopped

– sea salt to taste 

For the Enchiladas:

– 1/4 cup of olive oil

– 10-12 corn tortillas

– 2 cups of feta cheese, crumbled (you can always add more)

– olives of your liking, sliced (I normally use black olives, but I decided to use olives from this Greek Meze which has kalamata and green olives, it was very tasty)

– 1/2 yellow onion, diced

– 2 chicken breasts, bone in

– 16 oz. of beer (I used Tecate)

– 2 cups of water

Chicken: I prepared the chicken first, since that takes a bit of time to cook.  For the chicken, I placed two chicken breast in a pot with 16 oz. of beer and two cups of water.  I brought it up to a boil, then put a lid on the pot and simmered for about 15 minutes.  I checked on the chicken after 15 minutes and cut one of the chicken breasts in half to make sure it was fully cooked.  I then drained the liquid in the pot and set the chicken breasts on a dish towel to cool.  When chicken is cool enough to handle, shred and set aside.

Salsa: You will have to wash the tomatillos really well as they have sticky feel when you remove their husks.  I normally wash them in warm water to make sure the sticky residue is gone.  Place tomatillos, onion, garlic, cilantro and serrano in a large pot, fill with water until tomatillos are almost fully covered.

Bring water to a boil and continue boiling uncovered until the color on the tomatillos turns to a light green.   Turn off the heat and let veggies cool.

Once veggies are cooled, drain the water and  transfer tomatillos, onion, garlic, cilantro and serrano into a blender and blend until you have a smooth consistency.  Once all the veggies are blended,  you can salt to taste.

Preheat oven to 350° degrees.

Tortillas: The way that I prepared the tortillas when I’m going to fill them with chicken is the way that my mom does it.   

I get a small pan and add 1/4 cup of olive oil, heat on medium.  When the oil is heated, add a tortilla and fry it for a few seconds on each side.  You do not want the tortilla to be hard and crispy, you just want to lightly brown each side so that it is  still pliable.  Continue frying tortillas one by one and set aside until ready to fill.

In a 13×9 baking dish, pour 1/2 a cup of salsa verde and place the tortillas you fried in the sauce that way you can fill and roll in the dish.  Add shredded chicken, diced onions, olives and Feta in the center of the tortillas, then add a spoonful of salsa verde along the filling inside tortillas, roll and repeat until you have your dish lined with a row of enchiladas and dish is full.

When you have rolled all of the enchiladas, add remaining salsa over enchiladas and top with the remaining Feta cheese, olives and onions, then bake for about 15 minutes.  The feta cheese will not melt, but it will be a bit gooey and browned from the heat.  When the  salsa verde is bubbling, they are ready (about 15-20 minutes).

( joanna )

One Response to “Enchiladas con Salsa Verde de Pollo y Feta (Chicken and Feta Enchiladas with Green Salsa)”

  1. Joan Ries September 19, 2012 at 4:23 pm #

    Looks very tempting and not too difficult, would have to look for a couple of the ingredients

Leave a Reply

