Quinoa with Mushrooms, Sweet Potato, and Kale

10 Oct

In my quest for more vegetarian meals, I finally purchased a bunch of kale! I never had made anything with kale before, but a few weeks ago, my sister sent me a recipe that she loved and I wanted to try it out.

It was actually really easy. It was mostly chopping and cleaning the veggies and boiling the quinoa. To prepare the kale, you’ll need to tear leaves off the stem and either tear or chop the kale in small pieces. I threw my kale into the salad spinner and washed it really well with cool water. In all I probably rinsed and spun it 5-6 times. You’ll want to be sure any loose dirt is cleaned off and there are no tiny bugs in there!

20121004-100252.jpg

Peal and chop your sweet potatoes into half inch pieces. Your mushrooms should be cut into quarters. I bought mine pre-sliced and went with that. If you purchase your mushrooms packaged and don’t plan to use them right away, transfer them into brown paper bag to keep them from getting moldy. Slice up some garlic, too!

The original recipe required white wine, but since I rarely have wine in the house, I used vegetable broth. I’m sure the flavor will be different with the wine, but I was happy with the results the broth gave me.

20121004-102333.jpg

Be sure to use a large pot because the kale will take up a lot of room until it wilts down. I think my pot is 5.5 quarts and I barely had enough room for all the kale.

Quinoa with Mushrooms, Sweet Potato and Kale

adapted from Real Simple

1 cup quinoa

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 sweet potatoes, pealed and cut into half inch pieces

10 ounces button mushrooms, sliced

2 cloves garlic, thinly sliced

1 bunch kale, stems removed and leaves cut or torn to 2 inch pieces

3/4 cup vegetable broth

kosher salt and black pepper

1/4 cup grated Parmesan

In a saucepan add quinoa and 2 cups water and bring to boil. Once at a boil reduce heat to simmer and cover. Cook until all water is absorbed, about 12-15 minutes.

In large pot, heat oil over medium heat. Add sweet potatoes and mushrooms and cook, tossing occasionally until beginning to color and just getting soft, 5-6 minutes.

Add garlic and cook an additional minute.

Add kale, broth, 3/4 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon pepper. Cook, stirring often, until vegetables are tender, 10-12 minutes.

Serve quinoa in bowl with veggies on top. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese. Enjoy!

20121004-102547.jpg

(kanto)

3 Responses to “Quinoa with Mushrooms, Sweet Potato, and Kale”

  1. Sophia October 10, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    So glad you liked it too!

  2. Joan Ries October 11, 2012 at 12:55 pm #

    Sounds like it would really be good. I still have fresh kale in my garden, might give it a try. I am going to share with our minister’s wife who is a vegetarian.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Golden Quinoa Muffins | greexicansisters - March 22, 2013

    […] a couple bags of quinoa in the cabinet, and I never know what to do with the stuff. I’ve made quinoa with mushrooms, sweet potatoes, and kale and it was really good, but I really wasn’t in the mood for that. So I was looking at the […]

Leave a Reply

