Sweet Potato Chips

17 Oct

I was browsing Pinterest yesterday and I kept seeing tons of recipes with nutmeg, pumpkin, cinnamon, ginger, etc (’tis the season, right?) and then I came across this, Orange Sweet Potato Chips with Thyme.  The pictures of these chips are so beautiful I could not help but want to give it a go at these chips – beautiful photos of food always suck me in.  I also LOVE, LOVE, LOVE when I can recreate a recipe and I have all the needed ingredients at home.    Sweet potatoes (check), orange (check), olive oil, thyme, salt, pepper (check, check, check and check!!).

I kept having trouble with this recipe in that I made my first batch exactly as the recipe indicated and my chips were a little darker and crunchier than I would prefer (a.k.a. sorta burned).  I then decided to turn down the heat to 300º degrees and baked the chips for 35-40 minutes rather than 20 minutes.  I also played around with the how thin I  cut the sweet potato.  Initially, I think I sliced them too thin so they burned through too fast.  I then cut them a little bit thicker, about 1/8th of an inch and that made a difference.

Sweet potato chips (basic):

-1 sweet potato, scrubbed,  sliced to 1/8th of an inch (I used a mandolin slicer)

-2 tbsp of olive oil

-salt

-pepper

-bake on baking sheet at 300º for 35-40 minutes

Brush baking sheet with olive oil, place sweet potato on baking sheet in a single layer, then brush olive oil on sweet potato, salt, pepper and bake at 300º for about 35-40 minutes.  The edges of the sweet potato will start to curl up and the flesh of the potato will turn to a brighter golden orange color.  Once the edges are dry to the touch, they’re ready to be taken out.  Rest chips on baking sheet for a few minutes, then transfer chips to a cookie sheet to cool and crisp.

I initially made the chips with the orange zest and thyme and they were very good, but since I had a couple of baking sheets ready to go, I thought I’d switch it up and add different spices.  The next batch I made was with the same ingredients as listed above with the addition of sprinkling a little bit of smoke paprika on potatoes after brushing them with olive oil THEN the next batch I made I grated nutmeg over the chips.  Once the nutmeg chips were done baking, cooled and crisp I drizzled them with Buckwheat honey – it was a very nice treat that you shouldn’t feel too bad about indulging in.

Recipe adapted by Cooking Melangery.

( joanna )

Leave a Reply

