Chocolate Caramel Almond Dia De Los Muertos Rice Krispies Treat

31 Oct

Happiest Birthday to my beautiful God-daughter, Alyssa!! and Happy Halloween!  Although my God-daughter’s birthday was last week, I thought I’d dedicate this post to her.  I cannot believe she is already 9 years old, time really does fly.  I have some of the best memories with this little girl, especially with her being my first niece.  As with my other nieces and nephews, it was love at first sight – she had the funniest personality as a little girl and had us running around behind her quite a bit.  When she was a toddler some of her favorite things were “PANCAKES!!!” (as she’d yell when we were inside of a Denny’s) and “ICE CWEAM!!!”.  She loved Dora and Spongebob growing up, often looking for that ‘neaky fox, Swiper and yelling at the top of her lungs at my mom’s house “IT’S THE BEST DAY EVERRRRRR!!”.  Once and a while, when her and I were driving around on our weekend field trips she would tell me that she was born in Texas, thanks to Sandy from Spongebob and I will never forget her imaginary blue friend, Eureka.  She would freak her mom out quite a bit with that one!  We sure had a lot of fun.  With this post I thought I’d contribute to her birthday from afar and make this Chocolate Caramel Almond Dia De Los Muertos Rice Krispies Treat.

There is this group that I like on Facebook called “I (heart) SpanglishBaby“, and this rice krispies treat recipe popped up on my news feed.  I love Mexican Folklore art, especially anything having to do with Dia De Los Muertos.  With Halloween fast approaching, I thought I’d try my hand at this calavera rice krispies treat.

Chocolate Caramel Almond Dia de Los Muertos Rice Krispies Treat:

– 50 caramel candies (unwrapped)

– 2 cups of milk chocolate

– 6 cups of mini marshmallows

– 12 oz. of Kellogg’s Rice Krispies cereal (about 11 to 11 1/2 cups of cereal)

– 2 cups of almond slivers

– 1 stick of butter

– non-stick cooking spray

– 2 tbsp. of milk

– 9×13 baking dish

Calavera decor:

– black and green frosting (luckily I found these at Aldi in the Halloween section)

– red gummy bears (cut in half)

– yogurt covered raisins

– black, purple, and orange sprinkles and glitter

First, gather and measure all of your ingredients, especially the chocolate, caramel candies, cereal and marshmallows.  I found that this helped quite a bit, especially when melting the marshmallows and caramel.  It all melts before you know it and you don’t want any of it to burn plus it’s easy to have everything ready to go at hand.

 Once you have all of your ingredients measured, spray a pot with your non-stick cooking spray and melt stick of butter on medium heat.  While butter is melting, put caramel candies in another sprayed pot along with 2 tablespoons of milk and begin melting on a low flame.  When butter is melted, add marshmallows and begin stirring and mixing in with butter until completely smooth; same with the caramels and milk in the other pot.

When all of the contents in your pots are melted and smooth, pour into a large mixing bowl (also sprayed with non-cooking spray, trust me, this will help so much when cleaning up).  Mix the melted marshmallows and caramel candies together and add the almonds.  You will see a few whole almonds in my batch, I had a handful close by, so I tossed them in the mix.  Once you have added the almonds, slowly begin incorporating the cereal and folding it over gently.

Having NEVER made rice krispies treats of any kind, I found this process sorta of difficult.  There was cereal flying OUT of my bowl, it was a little bit of a mess – but I overcame and regained control of my mixture until it was all combined.  Once it is all combined pour your mixture in a 9×13 baking dish that has been sprayed with non-stick cooking spray and even mixture out inside baking dish. Make sure to press and spread the mixture out evenly so you that you get a level surface.  Once you have completed this, take a breather and let the mixture cool in the baking dish.  I left mine for an hour.

During this time, you can begin to sketch out your calavera or find one that you like online.  You will only need the shape of a skull because you will be cutting this out and you will use it as your stencil.  I very roughly sketched mine out on wax paper.

When rice krispies mixture is cool, slowly began to run a butter knife along the edge of the baking dish so you can gently pry your rice krispies treat out.  Once you feel that the sides are not sticking anymore, flip your baking dish upside down and lie your rice krispies treat on a cutting board and place your calavera stencil on top.  The wax paper I used began to roll up on me, so I inserted a few toothpicks to steady it while I cut through the rice krispies treat.

When your stencil is in place, begin cutting along your stencil with a sharp knife.  I found that cutting off the corners and sort of shaving pieces off with a knife worked really well and helps get the shape that you want.

Once you have cut your skull out of the rice krispies treat, set aside and begin to melt your milk chocolate on a low flame.  I placed the milk chocolate in a stainless steel bowl and then placed the bowl on top of a pot that had boiling water in it and slowing began stirring chocolate until smooth.  Once your chocolate is smooth, begin brushing one side of the calavera with chocolate and let dry.  Since I was pressed for time, I set my in the refrigerator for about 1/2 an hour.  When the chocolate has harden take rice krispies treat out of fridge and place  chocolate side down on another piece of wax paper.  Now you can begin decorating your calavera.  I used green and black frosting along the outer edges of the calavera, black frosting eye sockets with purple sugar glitter sprinkled on top along with red gummy bears that were cut in half surrounding the eye sockets.  For the teeth, I used yogurt covered raisins on top of some more black frosting.  The possibilities are endless with this.  Once you put all  of your work into creating this, the best part is decorating… and eating it, of course!

Have a safe Halloween, watch out for El Cucui!

An early Feliz Dia de Los Muertos and Feliz Dia de Todos Los Santos!

Recipe adapted by Nicole Presley at Presley’s Pantry

( joanna )

One Response to “Chocolate Caramel Almond Dia De Los Muertos Rice Krispies Treat”

  1. Michelle October 31, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

    Oh Joanna! That is so “sweet” of you! I think it’s cool that you made that! I will show this to Alyssa… I too remember the good ol’ days @ Denny’s, etc. Love you…

Leave a Reply

