Turkey and Cannellini Bean Soup

28 Nov

This year, my husband and I hosted Thanksgiving at our place.  It was a little overwhelming at first, but once I had my checklists sorted out and in order, the food and company all fell into place and came out beautifully.  I know a lot of people complain about leftovers but I was looking forward to it.  I had received and purchased several magazines with tons of recipes on what to do with leftover food – it’s the gift that keeps on giving.

I wasn’t planning on cooking anything yesterday, but then I saw Real Simple Southwest Chicken Soup recipe and I thought “I’VE GOT TURKEY!!”  This is what’s for dinner and maybe lunch….

Turkey and Cannellini Bean Soup, inspired by Real Simple Southwest Chicken Soup

-1 1/2 cups of salsa verde  (I had some left over from a previous batch, you can make your own from this recipe or buy a can from Herdez)

-3 cups cooked turkey, shredded or cubed (I did both)

-1 15oz. can of Cannellini beans, drained

-3 cups of broth (I used 1 and a half cups of chicken broth and 1 and a half cups of vegetable broth – it’s what was available in my fridge and it came out pretty tasty)

-1 tbsp. of chicken bouillon

-1 tsp. ground cumin

-grated Parmesan cheese (optional)

-sour cream (optional)

-Tapatio (optional)

Cut left over turkey into chunks and/or shred.  I had left over pieces of turkey breast and a little bit of dark meat.  Set aside.

Drain can of Cannellini beans.  Set aside.

Empty salsa verde into a chili pot and heat on medium/high  heat.  When salsa is simmering, add turkey, beans, broth, bouillon and cumin.  Bring all ingredients to a boil then lower heat and simmer.  Cook for about 10 minutes stirring occasionally.

When I tasted my soup it wasn’t spicy enough for me so I added a couple of dashes of Tapatio sauce.  My husband loved this soup and it was super easy to make.  I garnished my soup with a  little bit of freshly grated Parmesan cheese and a dollop of sour cream.

VIOLÁ – and just like that, all of my leftover turkey is gone.

( joanna )

Leave a Reply

