Candy Cane Cookies

26 Dec

Nostalgia always gets the best of me starting in October all the way up until the New Year.  While browsing around Pinterest, again, I saw a link for Candy Cane Cookies and it made me very happy.  My aunt used to make my cousins and I these cookies during the Christmas season when we were kids and I loved them so much.  Although my cousin Amanda and I are over 2,000 miles away sometimes we have the same thought and coincidentally this time, cookies were involved, Candy Cane Cookies.

The recipe that I used was from the Joy of Baking website.  When I saw this recipe, I immediately emailed my aunt and asked her if the recipe was similar to the cookies she used to make us and she said yes.  Amanda sent me the recipe that her mom used specifically and it called for 1/2 a cup of butter with 1/2 a cup of shortening and one egg instead of 2 egg yolks.  There were very little differences in taste between these two recipes (I tried both), I can’t say that one is  better than the other.  I will say that one of my favorite parts of baking or cooking is the smell of everything as it is coming together and how so many memories come to mind with the sense of smell.  With these cookies, it was the little Advent calendar my aunt always put up during Christmas with the little mouse you moved from day to day, tamales, champurado, cumbias, rancheras and the chipmunks playing in the background with lots of dancing involved.  It’s definitely a very festive time with all of my west coast ladies.

Candy Cane Cookies (inspired by my Nina Justina and Panda Bear)

– 2 large egg yokes (at room temperature)

– 1 cup of unsalted butter (at room temperature)

– 2 1/2 cups of all purpose flour

– 1 cup of confectioners sugar

– 1/4 tsp. of salt

– 1/2 tsp. of pure almond extract

– 1 tsp. of pure vanilla extract

– 1/2 tsp. red food coloring

SONY DSC

I gathered my ingredients close at hand this time because I wanted to try to limit any messes in the kitchen and I wanted to work fast with the butter before my dough got too soft to work with.

SONY DSC

Beat butter and confectioners sugar together on low in mixer until smooth and creamy.

SONY DSC

Stop mixer in between adding new ingredients and scrape sides of bowl so that all ingredients get incorporated.  When bowl has been scraped, set mixer on low/medium and add egg yolks, vanilla extract and almond extract.

When eggs and vanilla/almond extracts have been added, slowly add flour to mixture.  Soon you will start to see dough come together.

SONY DSC

When everything has been mixed together, scrape bowl again and ball up dough so that you can separate one half to add the red food coloring.

SONY DSC

After dough is balled up, split dough into two parts.  Wrap one part of dough in plastic wrap and place in fridge so that it doesn’t get too soft while you’re working with the other part of dough.  Add the second half of  dough to mixer and add 1/2 tsp. of red food coloring and mix on low.

SONY DSC

Preheat oven to 375°.  When red food coloring has been incorporated  you are ready to work with both your white and red doughs.   Scoop out about a teaspoon of red dough and white dough and form into little balls, then roll out dough separately in to 5-7 inch ropes.

image_3

Once you have rolled out your ropes of dough, place red and white dough together and slightly press against each other.  At this point, you can begin to twist your dough and form into a candy cane.

SONY DSC

Place candy canes onto a baking sheet with parchment paper and bake for about 10 mins or until the edges of the white cookie dough begin to brown.

image_5

Merry Christmas, Feliz Navidad and Καλά Χριστούγεννα.

To Panda Bear and Shell ❤

Recipe adapted by Joy of Baking.

( joanna )

2 Responses to “Candy Cane Cookies”

  1. Amanda January 18, 2013 at 8:13 pm #

    The cookies came out beautifully Wanna Bear! ❤ you

Leave a Reply

