Golden Quinoa Muffins

22 Mar

I have a couple bags of quinoa in the cabinet, and I never know what to do with the stuff. I’ve made quinoa with mushrooms, sweet potatoes, and kale and it was really good, but I really wasn’t in the mood for that. So I was looking at the package and noticed a recipe for these muffins. Since I had most of the ingredients and for the rest I had reasonable facsimiles, I decided to try them out.

These muffins are not too sweet, so once you get over the initial surprise of that, they are quite tasty. Max liked them, but Jasper was a little iffy. So maybe the preschooler set isn’t the right demographic for these, but an older kid or a grownup will enjoy them.

DSC00354

DSC00343

Quinoa, dried cranberries, and corn meal are the first into the bowl.

DSC00346

Add boiling water. Stir it up, cover, and throw it in the fridge. Keep in the fridge for at least an hour or up to eight. Mine was in there for about three.  When I took it out, it looked like this:

DSC00347

From this point add all the other ingredients.

DSC00348

Add honey (mine was a bit crystallized, but I went with it), orange zest (I actually only had mandarin oranges; I figured that would work in a pinch), vegetable oil, and an egg.

DSC00349

All purpose flour, sea salt, and baking powder. Original recipe called for whole wheat pastry flour. I didn’t have that, so again, I went with what I did have.

DSC00351

All mixed up…

DSC00352

And in the pan.

DSC00353

Now we’re golden!

Golden Quinoa Muffins

adapted from the Bob’s Red Mill Quinoa package (I couldn’t find a link of the recipe on their website)

Makes 12 muffins

1 cup quinoa

1 1/4 cup boiling water

1 cup fine ground cornmeal

1/2 cup dried cranberries

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1 egg, slightly beaten

1 tablespoon orange zest

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1 1/4 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

In a large bowl, mix quinoa, cornmeal, and dried cranberries. Stir in boiling water. Cover bowl and place in refrigerator for at least one hour or up to eight.

Preheat oven to 375°. Spray muffin pan with non stick spray and set aside. Add remaining ingredients into bowl, and mix quickly, being careful not to over mix. Split batter among the muffin cups.

Bake for 30 minutes or until muffins are golden.

(Kanto)

Leave a Reply

