Sweet Potato-Black Bean Stew

28 Feb

I realized recently that I hadn’t made any soups/stews all winter so my next posts might be back-to-back soups. I usually get like this toward the end of February, right when I think the weather is going to get a little warmer, we get dreary, gray, rainy, snow-slush, muddy days. I think Columbus is itching for blue skies and sunny days – my skin wants the sun, I’m tired of wearing so many layers!

Anyway, we’ve kept warm with this Sweet Potato-Black Bean Stew. I found this recipe back in November when I was “doing research” for my Thanksgiving festivities in the Better Homes and Gardens Holiday Recipes issue. This stew is GOOOOD with just the right amount of spice/sweet/sour.

Sweet Potato-Black Bean Stew (adapted by Better Home and Gardens Holiday Recipes)

-1 tbsp. canola oil

-2 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into half inch pieces

-1 zucchini, cut into half inch pieces

-1 medium red sweet pepper, cut into half inch pieces

-1/2 cup of coarsely chopped white onion

-1 jalapeño, chopped

-4 cloves of garlic minced

-1 tbsp. of chili powder

-1 tsp. ground cumin

-1 tsp. cayenne pepper (optional, I didn’t add any to my stew because I didn’t have any in my pantry)

-3 cups of vegetable broth

-1   14.5 oz. can of black beans, rinsed and drained

-1   14.5 oz. can diced tomatoes, do not drain

-1 or 2 ears of corn, roasted in oven or tatemado on comal

-1/4 cup of fresh cilantro, snipped

-1/4 cup of lime juice

-salt and pepper to taste

-shredded parmesean cheese or cheddar cheese , optional

 

Place corn on comal and roast until kernels are slightly blackened.  Set aside to cool for later use.

SONY DSC

Heat canola oil in a large pot over medium-high heat.  Add sweet potatoes, sweet pepper, onion, jalapeño and garlic and cook until sweet pepper and onion are tender, stirring occasionally – about 4-5 minutes.

SONY DSC

Stir in chili powder, cumin and cayenne pepper (if using).  Reduce heat to medium and cook uncovered until sweet potatoes are tender, stirring occasionally – about 8-10 minutes.

SONY DSC

 Once sweet potatoes are tender, add vegetable broth, black beans and tomatoes to pot.  Stir stew occasionally and bring to a boil.  At this time strip kernels of corn from ear and add kernels to the pot.   When stew has come to a boil, add zucchini.  I like to add the zucchini toward the end of the recipe so that it does not over cook and fall apart.

SONY DSC

Simmer uncovered for about 15 minutes.  Stir in cilantro and lime juice, season with salt and pepper to taste and serve!  This stew tastes good with freshly grated parmesean cheese right on top.

SONY DSC

( joanna )

One Response to “Sweet Potato-Black Bean Stew”

  1. Sophia February 28, 2013 at 5:14 am #

    Sounds wonderful! Have to try this one!

Leave a comment